As he has done many nights previously, That Husband reached over while we were falling asleep and grabbed hold of my hand. “This is wonderful,” I thought, “I can’t believe I lived without this for so many years.”

We sweetly lay together for about three minutes before it happened.

I just had to move my hand. It was all I could think about. If I could just move my hand I would fall alseep. Hand must move, moving must movity move. Move. Move. Move. But I didn’t want to move my hand, I wanted to fall asleep “in the arms of my beloved,” just one time. I tried moving my mouth, my hips, my feet, my eyes, my other hand, everything but the one engaged in a loving embrace with my spouse. I held on until I felt like I might burst and then gently pulled my hand away.

Ahhhhhh… sweet relief. Somehow, it’s better together when we’re apart.

What sleeping quirks do you deal with each night?

