So I made the name up. And some purist might come along and say “Those are, in no way, enchiladas.” Well in my house they are.

Before we begin you must buy these exact tortillas. Or any other type of uncooked tortilla. Then you must not be angry with me that you find yourself consuming 7 or 8 of them every day. They are divine and I love them with every fiber of my being. I think I will have to cook some up right this very minute and eat them for lunch.

tortillas

Step 1:

Make your cheesecake filling. It’s going to taste better if you make it one day in advance, but when I do this I have a hard time resisting the urge to eat spoonfuls throughout the day. It does need to sit in the fridge for a few hours to “set”.

Ingredients

1 box of cream cheese

1 cup of powdered sugar

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

Some lemon juice

1 tub of whipped cream

Beat cream cheese to soften. Add powdered sugar, possibly add more if you want it extra sweet (sometimes I do). Add vanilla and lemon juice. Mix until thoroughly blended. Fold in whipped cream (if you are new to baking like myself, fold means don’t over-beat. Just enough to blend the whipped cream with the cream cheese mixture).

This time I made it with fat free cream cheese, and fat free whipped cream. I have a hard time eating the fat free cheesecake filling plain, but it works great for the enchiladas!

Step 2:

strawberries

Now make yourself some strawberry topping. Don’t say that these strawberries look old, the age adds sweetness so they are the best kind! Just cut off the really icky parts.

I cut the tops of my strawberries, cut them into quarters, throw them in a bowl, add some sugar, and mash away with a fork. Or you can throw everything in the food processor and make a nice little puree.

Step 3:

Cook your tortillas in a large pan for a few minutes on each side. Watch them close, because they just aren’t good burnt. I spray some I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter on each side to make them a little bit crispy.

I didn’t do it this time because I was lazy, but usually I melt some margarine and mix in cinnamon and sugar and fry them up like elephant ears. It is, to put it simply, divine.

tortilla

Step 4:

Cover our tortilla with cheesecake filling. If you put a lot on like I do, be prepared to get messy! That Husband puts his strawberries on the inside, but I like mine on the outside.

cheesecake tortilla

Step 5:

Roll it up, throw some strawberries on top, and dive right in. Have a napkin handy, and feel free to come back and thank me for introducing you to this little piece of heaven.

cheesecake enchiladas

