It’s time for the apartment touring to begin! These posts may be interesting to some of you, but they may also be some of the most boring stuff you have ever read. I understand this, but it’s important to realize that this blog is not all about you. Actually, it’s all about me! It’s not even all about That Husband because he won’t guest post no matter how nicely I beg.

I thought my family especially (feel free to de-lurk family, I know you are reading!), would enjoy seeing where I am living, since it is soooooooo far away from all of them in Washington (I live in Dallas, did you know?)

We’ll move in a circle. Here is the door to the bedroom, with a picture sitting on the floor that is now hanging on the wall. Don’t you love our beautiful dresser? We bought it at the same furniture outlet that we bought our couch, and it’s so lovely to own a real piece of furniture.

bedroom

Here is a closeup of the dresser because it holds so many of my favorite things. The sketch of Roman life I bought in Rome. The kleenex keeper, so black and tricky (who would have known that kleenexes live inside of that beautiful black box?) The dress form necklace holder my mom bought for me. My Marilyn Monroe clock. The red ikea dish we use as a catch-all (That Husband didn’t know he needed one of these until I taught him how to use it).

bedroom

Here is our bed. You might comment and say “Jenna, you can remove the plastic wrap from the boxes,” but you will be wasting your time my friends because this is something I already know. I just have this thing about keeping things in their original condition with their original packaging. I’m working on finding one of those box pleat bed skirts to cover the plastic. Baby steps people. Baby steps.

I love love love the sleek look of the quilts on our bed. I bought two identical quilt sets from Overstock.com, one in white and one in green, and I love how it looks so modern with the green peeking out at the fold. The sets came with shams but we still haven’t bought pillows to put inside of them. Also, That Husband doesn’t see the need to have so many pillows on the bed.

bedroom

The nightstand from Wal-mart. After he bought it and put it together, That Husband thanked me for not letting him buy the Wal-mart dresser like he orginally wanted to do. There is a definite difference in quality, although we don’t use this one as much so it’s alright. Do you like the red jewlrey box? Should I try to find something else? I hate the cell phone cord sitting there but I don’t have a better choice.

bedroom

You will be seeing this wall again, as I am sure I will be consulting all of you for ways to best decorate it. I’m going to take the photo of the London Bridge you see in the next picture down and hang it to the left, and then install a shelf or two and add trinkets and photos across it. Or is that a bad idea? What would you do with a wall like this?

bedroom

I love our $26 (total for both!) laundry baskets. The size is a little on the small side, but the price was right and I love the velcro bags that pull out when laundry needs to get done. The London Bridge picture (by Kelli Nicole of course) will be hung on the large blank wall in the photo above, and I’m thinking about hanging a 30X40 engagement photo print above the hampers instead.

bedroom

This is the photo I think should be hung above the hampers.

steamy engagement

What would you do to add some spice to the decor?

