Wow, that is a really long title. But, in my defense, I’m going to show you two really delicious recipes, and if you, by chance, are getting ready to go grocery shopping one day and think “I really would like to make that Chicken with Apple and Brie and Asparagus with Sliced Almonds and Parmesan Cheese That Wife talked about a few weeks ago,” you will now be able to locate it very easily. This blog is all about convenience people.

There is something I should have told you the last time I posted some recipes… I don’t follow recipes very well. Sylvia Weinstock taught me that baking is about chemistry and science, but I think that cooking is all about ingenuity and creativity. So if I bake something, I will do my best to follow the recipe exactly, but when I cook I make it up as I go along.

The Chicken recipe was found here, at The Cook Mobile. She made a dish that looked like this:

As is always the case when I copy a recipe, mine did not look so pretty. If you want the original recipe, click on the above link. What I am pasting below is what I actually did (well, it’s what I can remember from what I actually did). I don’t have a meat tenderizer, and after debating on the merits of using a hammer to flatten out the chicken, I just decided to improvise.

2 packages of trimmed and sliced chicken breasts (I believe mine were Tyson)
1 large Granny Smith apples, sliced thin
3/4small block of light Havarti cheese, sliced thin
3/4 box of corn flakes, crushed (mine were kind of big because we were watching Bones and TH got made that I was being loud and ruining the show for him 🙂 )
6 large eggs, throw out half the yolks

Dip one package of chicken breasts in egg mixture and roll in crushed corn flakes. Line the bottom of the dish with corn flake encrusted chicken breasts. Cover the chicken with apple slices, then cover the apple slices with Havarti cheese.

img_51081

Dip and coat the rest of the chicken breasts, and lay those on top of the cheese. Sprinkle extra corn flakes on top for extra crunch.

img_51101

Bake in a 375 F oven until cooked throuh, around 20 to 30 minutes.

While that was cooking I whipped up the asparagus. Again, the recipe below is what I did and includes my wannabe witty commentary. Visit the link to see the original.

INGREDIENTS

* 2 tablespoons margarine
* 1 bundle asparagus, bottoms trimmed
* Some water
* Some thinly sliced almonds
* Some Parmesan cheese (not the dehydrated Kraft stuff, use the real thing people!)

DIRECTIONS

1. Melt margarine in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the asparagus, and cook and stir. Add in some water like I did because it doesn’t like like it is getting tender fast enough. (Take small bites to keep checking tenderness. Try to bite the same piece each time or you will wind up with a bunch of half-chewed asparagus pieces and husbands don’t like that.) Cook until all of the water is gone.

2. Stir in as many almonds as you want and grate parmesan until you are satisfied. Cook for a few more minutes, until all of the cheese is melted.

Pull the chicken out of the oven and serve with some kind of bread/starch because your husband demands it.

chicken with brie and asparagus

That Husband and I really liked liked both the Chicken and the Asparagus dishes, and the Asparagus dish will definitely become a staple in our house from now on. The Chicken was good, but the true test of any dish is how it holds up as leftovers, and this one might not make the cut because of it. Actually I’m starting to feel hungry right now, signaling the end of this post, and the beginning of my lunch of dinner leftovers!

