This past week I did something I have been wanting to do for a long time. I bagged my items in the grocery store into reusable shopping bags instead of the plastic or paper options.

reusable shopping bags

Ok fine, you can see one plastic bag there. The lady made me take it, and it was actually a really good idea because the chicken she put inside leaked all over inside the bag.

It was hard because I chose to do it for the first time at a store other than Whole Foods. It was Tom Thumb actually, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this was the first time the cashier had ever been handed cloth bags and heard the request “Please no paper or plastic, just use these bags.” Instead of feeling proud I felt kind of stupid as I realized I would have to balance unloading my cart, paying for the items, and bagging them all up. I didn’t think about the way it usually goes, how the checker also quickly bags for you as well. She helped me out towards the end, but it was a little bit awful. I think I will need That Husband to go with me next time.

Once I got out of the car and carried only 5 bags inside instead of the usual 20 plastic ones I would have been handed, I started to feel proud once again. Less bags will have to be manufactured because of me, and I don’t have to feel guilty like I usually do for immediately stuffing the plastic into the trash (who can really save and reuse so many bags, be honest, you know you immediately throw most of them away).

I have a long ways to go. I have yet to take the cloth bags to Target or Wal-Mart, but I think  I will eventually get there. I still have many wasteful habits to overcome (i.e. brushing my teeth in the shower and overusing the air conditioning) but I am taking the small and necessary steps to make a difference

On a related side note (well related to the grocery store); are people REALLY paying $8 for a pumpkin? It’s not like it will turn into Cinderellas coach at the end of the night.

fairy tale pumpkins

