Whitney reminded me that it is NaBloPoMo! So I didn’t technically post on this blog on November 1st, but I posted on That Bride and the rules are “Post every day for a month” so I figure I can still count myself as successful.

As Ethidium Bromide recently began doing, I’m going to start posting some recipes. Not because I actually know how to cook. No, I am doing it because I love broadcasting all of my mistakes to you, my dear readers (I hope there will be a few successes as well).

My first cooking attempts were from my two favorite blogs, Coconut & Lime and Bakerella.

Autumn Vegetable Chowder

My chowder:

Thoughts on my chowder:

Why is mine orangey/green and hers is white? I have absolutely no idea. Maybe she only blended her cauliflower, but I blended everything except the broccoli and potatoes. I really liked it that way.

A little bit of salt ground on top made it so good.

That bread you see in the background is Asiago cheese bread. I could eat it with every meal.

Pumpkin Pecan Chocolate Chunk Cookies With Maple Brown Butter Frosting

My cookies:

Thoughts on my cookies:

I used 72% dark chocolate chunks. Although a good choice, I put too many inside and they overpower the pumpkin. That Husband likes it though because he doesn’t like pumpkin that much.

The frosting was delicious, but a failure compared to that fluffy stuff Bakerella made. Maybe it’s because I used margarine (filled with trans fat, ooops!) instead of butter.

Why are my cookies oblong and shaped all funny? And hers are perfectly round? What is the secret to this roundness?

Do not eat one of these and then try to eat an apple. It just doesn’t work.

Things I learned overall:

I want a new camera. A fancy pants DSLR.
I want to live somewhere with better lighting.
I should start cooking in the middle of the day in order to have better lighting.
I should try not to be sad when my food doesn’t look exactly like that of the pros. (Hey, I consider these bloggers to be pros okay?)

Should you make the soup? Yes!

Should you make the cookies? Yes!

