The other day I woke up with the desire to try out a new recipe for breakfast. I wanted pancakes, but I wanted something with some fiber. I thought this pancake recipe would give me the hearty results I was looking for.

Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes

INGREDIENTS

* 1 cup all-purpose flour
* 1/3 cup quick cooking oats
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
* 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
* 1/2 cup fat free sour cream
* 1 egg, lightly beaten
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1/3 cup milk

DIRECTIONS

1. Heat a lightly oiled griddle over medium-low heat.
2. In a bowl, mix the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, mix applesauce, sour cream, egg, and vanilla. Stir applesauce mixture and milk into the flour mixture until evenly moist and thick.
3. Scoop about 1/4 cup batter for each pancake onto the prepared griddle, and cook, turning once, until golden brown on both sides.

Makes 11 pancakes

Nutrition Information (as weighed and calculated by me):
Serving Size: 3 pancakes
Calories: 233
Fat: 2g
Sat Fat: 1g
Mono Fat: 1g
Cholesterol: 62mg
Sodium: 276 mg
Potassium: 113mg
Carbohydrate: 45g
Fiber: 2g
Protein: 8g

These pancakes were thick, hearty, and something like a 3.5 on a scale of 5 for me. I think I’m not head over heels in love with them because I’m just not a pancake person. I cover my pancakes in peanut butter and syrup and ICBINB and suddenly they aren’t quite so healthy anymore. So I’ll stick to my homemade breakfast burritos or my favorite “8g fiber per serving” cereal.

If you are a pancake person though, I think you’ll live them. Cook them slow because they are so thick and hearty, but they’re the perfect breakfast if you want something that will stick to your bones (in a good way, not in a jiggly way).

